A final restraining order (FRO) or domestic violence restraining order (DVRO) in Jackson, New Jersey can be devastating to the defendant. The restrictions imposed on the defendant can be even stricter than were originally ordered in the temporary restraining order (TRO).
How Does Someone Get A Final Restraining Order In Jackson, New Jersey
To get a final restraining order in New Jersey, you must first obtain a temporary restraining order. To see the requirements for a temporary restraining order, see the page (link to TRO page). Shortly after the temporary restraining order is issued, a final restraining order hearing is scheduled. This hearing is usually scheduled in a very timely fashion, within 10 days after the temporary restraining order was issued. Because this is a serious matter that hopes to prevent a domestic violence crime, the judges like to handle them quickly and efficiently. Because of this, you will need to give your attorney as much time as possible to prepare. If you are facing a restraining order in Jackson, New Jersey and wish to challenge the order, contact Villani & DeLuca immediately. The more time you allow for an experienced Jackson family law attorney to prepare your case, the higher chance of success we have in challenging the order. Call Villani & DeLuca today for a free consultation.
What Are The Penalties For Violating A Final Restraining Order?
The penalties for violating a final restraining order can be very harsh. Depending on the circumstances, the defendant can be charged with a disorderly persons offense, or a 4th degree crime. For a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey, the defendant can face a fine of up to $1,000 and 6 months in prison. If the violation is charged as a 4th degree crime, the penalties are tougher. A 4th degree crime in New Jersey can be punished with fines up to $10,000 and 18 months in prison. Furthermore, final restraining orders do not go away. They are enforceable anywhere in the United States for the rest of time unless they are lifted by a judge. Many people also agree that it is much easier to challenge the restraining order at the time it is being created than to get the order lifted at a later date. Ocean County Judges typically do not like to modify or take back judicial orders. Moreover, if the defendant violates the restraining order a second time, there is a mandatory minimum of 30 days in prison.
What To Do If You Reside In Jackson, New Jersey And You Are Facing A Restraining Order?
As you can see, restraining orders are not something to take lightly. They are restrictive, binding, and pack a powerful penalty. If you are facing a final restraining order, retain legal counsel immediately. At Villani & DeLuca, our attorneys have over 100 years combined experience. They are familiar with the local legal community and have handled many cases dealing with restraining orders In Jackson, New Jersey. Whether you are challenging a violation of the restraining order or the issuance of the restraining order itself, call Villani & DeLuca 732-965-3404 for a FREE consultation today.